Yes, absolutely. You can upgrade or downgrade your subscription at any time. To do that:
If you upgrade, any additional payments required are billed pro-rata until your subscription renews. Once you have confirmed the change to your subscription you can assign the additional users with these instructions.
If you downgrade, you will start paying at the reduced level when your subscription renews.